11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved ‘The Girl On The Train’

The trailers for Girl on a Train look fierce. But while we all can’t wait to watch Emily Blunt work her magic on the big screen, reading the book first was an thrilling experience, like drinking a double espresso and then going for a run in a thunderstorm. If you’re dying for another read that’s going to get your pulse racing and keep you up far past your bedtime simply because you must know what happens next, then look no further. Here, 12 books with “OMG, WTF is happening?!” plots to put on your must-read list.

Related-ish: 10 Harry Potter Quotes To Give You All The Feels


1. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train

Alice wakes up believing she is pregnant and happily married only to discover that she’s divorced with three children and can’t remember the last decade of her life. Reading along as she puts the pieces together to figure out what happened is more satisfying than eating peanut butter straight from the jar.

2. All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train

Nicolette left her rural hometown a decade ago after her best friend disappeared without a trace. When she comes back to care for her sick father, another young girl goes missing and connections to the first case are hard to ignore. Could she be responsible for what happened to her friend? Told backwards from day 15 to day 1 this book is impossible to put down, so clear your calendar accordingly.

3. Wreckage by Emily Bleeker

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
Lillian and Dave survived a plane crash and lived alone on an island together for two years. When they’re finally rescued, they lie to the public about what really happened during their time together. Once the media circus dies down they have to face the spouses they left behind, and the truth. It’s like Lost, without the nonsense of the Others.

4. Hidden by Catherine McKenzie

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
When Jeff suddenly dies, two women are affected: his wife and his co-worker, Tish. Were they friends, or something more? A tale of trust in relationships, you’ll keep reading to find out what the deal was between Jeff and Tish was before his untimely passing.

5. The Dinner by Herman Koch

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
Set against the backdrop of a five-star dinner, two brothers and their wives meet to discuss their teenage sons. The boys have done an unspeakable act, and with one of the boy’s father’s set to become Prime Minister the family needs to decide between doing what’s right and keeping their sons out of jail. Moral quandaries like whoa.

6. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
Before there was Gone Girl, there was Sharp Objects. Gone Girl may be the Beyonce of woman’s thriller lit, but all of Flynn’s books are verified creep-fests. Camille, a journalist, travels back to her home town to cover the story of teen girls who were killed, their teeth missing. She finds the answers she’s looking for may be closer than she thinks. Along the way she must confront her relationship with her estranged mother and half-sister. Trigger warning for self-harm, cutting.

7. YOU Caroline by Kepnes

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
Written entirely from the perspective of the obsessive stalker/boyfriend Joe, YOU is a boy meets girl, boy becomes obsessed with girl, boy stalks girl, and then, shit gets scary kinda tale. With plenty of references to social media, it’s relevant, timely, and feels like it could actually happen in real life, so in other words, it’s brilliant and freaky AF.

8. Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
Christine has a type of amnesia where she wakes up every morning with no memory of who she is. But she keeps a secret note book of things, and in the notebook it says not to trust Ben. The only problem? Ben is her husband. This book will have you giving your bae the sideeye for weeks after you finish it.

9. Unravel by Calia Read

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
How do you know when to trust someone? Naomi Carradine has been in a psych ward for a month. She’s been visited by two men, one who thinks she’s crazy and one who’s trying to convince her that she’s not. It’s up to her to figure out what happened before she loses her hold on reality for good.

10. Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train
If you loved Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, then Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little is the perfect shade for you. It’s like the Gone Girl of mother-daughter relationships. Janie’s  been in jail for ten years after being convicted for the murder of her own mother. She still can’t believe something so awful could happen, but she does know they never got along. Could she really be guilty of such a thing?

11. The Special Power of Restoring Lost Things by Courtney Elizabeth Mauk

%name 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train 11 Books You Need To Read If You Loved The Girl On The Train

It’s been a year since their daughter Jennifer went missing from a night club, and her parents and brother are still trying to make sense of what happened. On the day they get a call to come identify what may potentially be her remains, the family scatters to deal with their grief in vastly different ways, and with shocking results.

Related-ish: 10 Sexy Styles From High School Movies That Would Never Pass Dress Code

Share Tweet E-email